Adapting Galapagos

Some very interesting questions from Caite:

I finished reading Galapagos yesterday, and it left me with some questions that I was hoping you might be able to shed some light on. I did a bit of digging on Google, and found out that Galapagos was adapted into a stage play last year. I couldn’t find any visuals [I’ve found some: click here–Dan], but it included projections, puppetry, and a large acting ensemble. As a theatre student, I’m quite curious as to how they brought Vonnegut’s story to life on stage. The entire run was sold out, so I can assume that the production was a successful one. Why a play and not a movie? Would it be any different?
 I was wondering what you think is the most successful (or the most popular) medium for science fiction. Does the medium even matter? In my experience in theatre, I know of very few works that could be classified within the sci fi genre. Then again, you showed a great example of the stage adaptation of Frankenstein, how the mirroring of the doctor and the monster could be shown through two actors alternating between both roles-a great decision in visualizing a major theme within the novel.
Back to Dan: Fascinating questions, Caite. I want to take this up in lecture tomorrow, so think about it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adapting Galapagos

  1. Terry says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this, Caite and Dan. I’d love to watch this. I also like the idea that a satire like Galapagos could bring in more diverse theatre crowds, like summer park productions of Shakespeare by the Sea that are held in Halifax.
    I think it’s unfortunate that, today, theatre is typically only frequented by those who are well-off, or by those in the business themselves. But every now and then, I see a production that makes me think, wow, this is an entry point for those who might not be into theatre. As an example, I recently saw the Book of Mormon at Place des Arts, and thought that theatre could use more plays (musicals) like this. The Book of Mormon was really smart, on so many levels. And If the writers of South Park can’t get those usually disinterested in theatre interested in theatre, then no one can. Did you get a chance to see it?

    Also, our in class discussion about who might be best to direct a film version of Galapagos reminded me of this Epic Rap Battle featuring Spielberg, Hitchcock, Tarantino, Kubrick, and Bay, so I thought I’d share for anyone who hasn’t had the chance to see it. It’s Michael Bay bashing at it’s best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

